ASSAULT

In the state of Connecticut, there are three major categories of assault charges, differentiated by degrees. The most serious charge is Assault in the First degree. Assault in the Third Degree is the least serious offense.

FIRST DEGREE

Assault in the first degree is the most serious assault charge. It is classified as a Class B felony and potential penalties include fines of up to $15,000 and up to 20 years in prison. If you are found guilty of first degree assault in the state of Connecticut, there is a mandatory minimum five year prison sentence. First-degree assault carries such serious penalties because it involves:

  • Using a gun or other deadly weapon to cause injury
  • The intention to cause someone serious bodily harm
  • Aggressive behavior resulting in death
  • Serious injury to another person

SECOND DEGREE

Assault in the second-degree is also classified as a felony. However, unlike first degree assault, second degree assault is a Class D felony, making it less serious. If you are charged with second degree assault, you are accused of:

  • Intending to cause serious harm to someone else
  • Causing someone else serious harm
  • Using a deadly weapon (other than a firearm) to hurt someone
  • Drugging someone

THIRD DEGREE

Third degree assault is the least serious charge. It is considered a Class A misdemeanor, and you will be charged with it if:

  • You intend to hurt someone
  • You do hurt someone
  • You hurt someone with a weapon

The following charges are also classified under the category of assault crimes: Assault on a Department of Corrections Worker, Assault on an Elderly Person, Assault with a Motor Vehicle, etc.

Assault in the First Degree (Class B Felony)

  • Prison sentence of 1-20 years
  • Fine of up to $15,000
  • Assault with a deadly weapon or dangerous instrument in the first degree will result in a prison sentence of 5-20 years with 5 years mandatory or 10-20 years in prison with 10 mandatory if the victim is under 10 years old

Assault in the Second Degree (Class D Felony)

  • Prison sentence of 1 to 5 years
  • Fine of up to $5,000

Assault in the Second Degree with a Firearm (Class D Felony)

  • Prison sentence of 1-5 years with mandatory 1 year in jail
  • Fine of up to $5,000

SENTENCING

The following crimes fall under the category of assault; however, they have different consequences. Here is a comprehensive list of punishments for each type of assault crime. 

Assault of an Elderly, Blind, or Pregnant Person or a Person with an intellectual disability in the Second Degree (Class D Felony)

  • Prison sentence of 1-5 years, with 2 years of the sentence not being able to be reduced or suspended
  • Fine of up to $5,000

Assault of an Elderly, Blind, or Pregnant Person or a Person with an intellectual disability in the Third Degree

  • Prison sentence of which one year cannot be reduced or suspended.
  • Fine of up to $2,000

Assault in the Third Degree (Class A Misdemeanor)

  • Prison sentence of up to a year
  • Fine of up to $2,000

Assault in the Second Degree with a Motor Vehicle (Class D Felony)

  • Suspension of the driver’s license for one year
  • Prison sentence of up to 1 year
  • Fine of up to $5,000

.

Assault of an Elderly, Blind, or Pregnant Person or a Person with an intellectual disability in the Second Degree with a Firearm (Class D Felony)

  • Prison sentence of 1-5 years, 3 years of which can’t be reduced or suspended
  • Fine of up to $5,000

If you are facing an assault charge of any kind, you should contact an attorney who has experience handling assault cases right away. Do not volunteer information to the police or answer any other questions until you have an attorney present. Contact The Kaloidis Law Firm, LLC today for a free case evaluation.